“Where is the Excitement”

I rescind what I said in yesterday’s blog.  For those of you who do not remember, I said that though the dunk competition had a lack luster group of participants, we would still be seeing an exciting show full of tantalizing booms.  It didn’t happen.  Last night was probably the most dull and unimpressive display I have ever witnessed from an NBA Slam Jam in my lifetime.

I mean you expect the point guard skills competition and 3 point contest to be somewhat boring, but you can always depend on the Dunk Competition to be thrilling.  This was not the case last night.  So I started my viewing last night not expecting much from the skills competitions and 3 point competition.  But once it was time for the Dunk Competition, I was ready to see some new and innovative throw downs.

It just never happened.  I continued to wait hoping that maybe in the final round something exciting would happen.  But it just didn’t.  Nate “Tiny” Robinson became the first 3 time champion ever.  I wish they would have given Demar the title or found a way to give it to neither finalist.  Nobody deserved the title last night.  After last evening, the NBA needs to re-evaluate who they invite to participate in the dunk contest.  Give me a Lebron, Kobe, Wade, and Dwight Howard competition.  I promise it  would be exciting.  We would all be “Witnesses.”

Honestly the best part of last evening was listening to the obliviousness of Charles Barkley and seeing the world renowned Cowboy girls.  And believe me, listening to Chuck speak his ridiculousness is not all that funny.  So a very disappointing night and just an overall lackluster show.

Hopefully the game tonight provides some fireworks.  If you are busy this evening, do not start viewing until the last 10 minutes of the game when the players really strap in.  The first 3 quarters will be filled with fun and players laughing.  The 4th quarter always is the exciting time for the fans though to watch these amazing competitors focus in and try to win a ball game.

Dirk Nowitzki is the MVP pick from here.  I am going to have to agree with Kobe in that players will be looking to get the hometown guy as many touches as possible. Watch for Dirk to wow the Dallas crowd as he does night in and night out.  This will be yet another achievement to add to Dirk’s already storied career.  The best European player of all time.

Stay tuned for the next edition of Sportskraze.

-Kraze

Leave a Reply

